Fashion Friday: Skyway Inspired Workwear

I intern in Downtown Minneapolis, in a real life office building – office skyscraper. Minnesotans have come up with a great way of avoiding inclimate weather, the skyways. Bridges in the sky connecting towers together ensuring that we never have to splash in a puddle or suffer through clouds of cigarette smoke. My office is “skyway connected” and has glass walls. So needless to say, when I want a little distraction I am happy to people watch.

Skyway, Minneapolis, downtown, city, twin cities, st. paul, minnesota

In case you needed a skyway visual

I’ve recreated some of the best outfits I saw this week, here. And, as per usual, I will include similar plus-size options to recreate the look.


Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 10.53.02 AMI actually saw this outfit on a curvy girl yesterday.She looked fabulous, powerful, and absolutely sexy.

Blazer:
$109.99 from Macy’s
$64.50 from Torrid

Pencil Skirt:
$54.95 from Lane Bryant

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 11.05.27 AM

Blouse:
$34.99 from ModCloth
$15.90 from Forever 21

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 11.01.23 AM

This one was a causal friday ensemble. Admittedly, she was a twig. But I genuinely think this could look great on anyone. I also think that you could recreate this look with things you already have! The things worth spending real money on in this outfit are the sweater and jeans. For the sake of one cheap outfit in this post, here’s this outfit all from Forever 21 (and still work appropriate)

Chambray Undershirt: $24.90, Sweater: $14, Jeans $9.90, Sneakers: $24.90, Statement Necklace: $12.90
(For the boot option, seek last week’s post )
Grand total: $86.60

Sincerely,
Journey as Janelle