That Really Great Friend You Make in College

I’ve been taking little notes about what to put in this post for a couple weeks now. I wanted to say a lot of important things because I think it is an important topic. Winter break was kind of an emotional time for me because of what was to come when I went back to school. And I had really stressed myself out about trying to find a post-grad job while I was on winter break since it was when I had the most time. Of course, I leaned on my friends a bit get me through all of that.

So what’s my point? I feel like I really need to express how grateful I am for my friend Harrison.

In midst of all that breakdown I had I decided to start picking out things I was grateful for everyday. Who made it day one (and several days since…) You guess it, Harrison. He is so good to me and I leave every conversation with him feeling supported, loved, and confident.

Lets just give you some back story on him. We met in college and since we are in the same major which is quite small, we have had about a million classes together. We got close very very quickly but it was mostly just an in-class friendship. Still, as I am sure you can guess when you have a majority of your classes together (and study and do homework together) that is still a great deal of time. I grew to love grabbing Starbucks or a quick meal in between classes with him and was lost when that didn’t happen!

I have watched in grow up a lot in the few years I have known him. He was always a good person there is no denying that but the way he has grown to be so loving and compassionate is absolutely amazing. I have to say, the way he grew up I don’t think it would be outrageous for him to act like a brat. He has a lot in ways of “nice things” and when I first met him I thought that would define him. Perhaps some of the community service work he has done fostered some of that compassion I mentioned before but god I can’t say enough how great of a person he is.

I can go to him with anything – family issues, gossip, stress – anything. He’s always so supportive and reminds me that I am loved. As of late, I have realized that he is one of those great lifetime friends I made in college that I’ll be calling from 2,000 miles away when I’m 70 years old. Words quite literally cannot express how important he is to me. I would be lost without the support I get from him.

I am tempted to give you a million examples of things he has done for me. Maybe one day I will but I think maybe that is something I need his permission for. And also, I’m in public and would have tears in my eyes revisiting all those beautiful memories.

Harrison, I love you. You have never faltered from being one of the most caring, genuine, amazing friends I have had in my 21 years on this earth. Thank you for being there for me in the way you have and reminding me everyday that I am worthy. I hope that I can give you half of the love and support you have given me. Just, thank you. Thank you so much.

Here’s to the last semester together being the best one yet!

Harrison

Until next time,
Journey as Janelle

2 thoughts on “That Really Great Friend You Make in College

  1. Simone says:

    This is a really beautiful piece – I hope he gets to read it! A really lovely recognition of a close and special friendship.
    I met one of my closest friends while I was at uni – we worked together – and even though I’ve now moved away, we still have lengthy phonecalls, email each other and catch up when we can. He is a brilliant, intelligent, creative man who always has the wisdom to calm me down or advise me during tough times. Your post gave me the chance to reflect on our friendship a little bit too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • janellemarch says:

      Oh yes he read it right away. And cried. Thank you so much for the compliments. I’ve been in such a mushy mood lately! But it feels so nice to not only appreciate someone that much but be able to put it in words and create something special for him.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

