The Power of Compliments

Lately, I have found myself clicking on articles with suggestions about little things you can do to have a happier life. I am focused on doing everything I can to be a better person. If I am being honest, I have not always been the most considerate or kind person. I think that I have always cared about people in a deep, meaningful way but I have also struggled with being guarded in all the wrong ways. Some of the less than fuzzy parts of my upbringing had subconsciously taught me that showing my emotions – good or bad – means that I am weak.
But the truth is I have some really amazing people in my life who deserve to be recognized. I have tried to focus on the positive aspects of each day and to show my gratitude for the small things. While I am challenging myself to grow as a person, I extend that to you!
This week I will focus on giving someone a genuine, substantial compliment every single day. A compliment beyond “I like your dress” – which by the way why is that a compliment at all? “I like (insert something about their appearance)” deems a thank you? Okay, mini-rant over.
I am hoping to extend this goal past my close friend group. Yes, they deserve it too but I want to impact someone’s day who does not already know I love them. So give it a try, readers! Hell, give me one! 🙂
Until next time,
Journey as Janelle

One thought on “The Power of Compliments

  1. Karen says:

    Happiness really is a skill, and it sounds like you’re well on your way. Once I embraced the concept of karma, the Law of Attraction, and truly trusted my intuition, my life became filled with peace. You really do get what you give in this life. May your life become filled with peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

