Finding Myself… Again

Social Media Graphic -- finding myself again

I have said this before and I really hope that I don’t have to say it again, but Journey is changing.

I started this blog wanting to have an outlet for my creativity, that has not changed. But finding the pathway has been difficult and, ultimately, led me to repeadetly just stop writing all together. Which is so not the point, right?!

I started writing about anything and everything… and it was dull. Like “Hello, I’m a female and therefore will write about lipstick and high heels” dull. I’m not dissing those girls but I can be so much more interesting than that.

Still, the internet and many “grown-ups” that needed me to have a concrete answer about what my blog was about pressured me into finding a finite niche. I thought I could handle writing purely about sustainability issues because I really do care but I couldn’t be funny. I couldn’t vent about a dreadful experience I had that day. I couldn’t tell my readers how much I really loved a new perfume when I wanted to. And hence, it was not a outlet for my creativity. It was not fun. And I dropped it like a hot potato in ten seconds flat.

Because I really did want to do this, I started doing copious amounts of research on how to develop a blog, find your true niche, etc. That is when I came across the blog business plan. Author of that gold, Regina persuaded me into believing if I completed this plan I would be ready and inspired to work hard. She was so right… 

While I answered the questions she asked me in this phenomenally helpful PDF, I realized that I had been ignoring something very obvious. The things that I bring to the internet that no one else can… the blog that does not already exist… the posts that are not already redundant… ME.  

It is almost embarrassing that it took me nearly nine months of blogging to realize this… the thing I bring to the table is myself.

In general, I am an open book. Go ahead, ask my friends. They will tell you that just about nothing is sacred for me. I am completely willing to talk about any topic… even the down and dirty if you know what I mean.

I guess I had this concept that the internet was a pure place where I could not be that honest but then I think, my favorite content creaters are all painfully honest women. Literally, just them being so upfront about who they are as people makes them great. Granted, they have pretty spectacular personalities in the first place.

So that is my promise to you all. I will be honest. I will show you as many facets of myself as I can possibly put into words. Sometimes it will be sassy, sometimes sad, sometimes sexual. I think it will be good for both of us.

Until next time,
Janelle

Featured Image: Source

Leave a Reply

