The Art of Coming Out

Yesterday, October 10th, was “National Coming Out Day.” While I did not actually come out to anyone yesterday it definitely got me thinking about my own experiences. I didn’t exactly make this huge statement where I let the world know I was bisexual – there was really no gesture at all. I really just let people find out on there own time.

2015 is a great time to be gay… I mean really, I couldn’t ask for better timing. The world is receptive to it and celebrities are coming out left and right. Suddenly, I have all these role models telling me that part of me I shielded for 12 years is totally welcome in the world.


Anyway, I definitely started thinking about different ways that one can announce their homosexuality to the internet…

The Weak Sauce
This gal wants the world to know but maybe doesn’t feel the need to literally climb a mountain to shout it from. Optional method, a “sly snap” …if you will. A picture of your partner with some sort of ambiguous captioning posted to the snapchat story. Perhaps an emoji covering their face. A picture of some perfectly adorable same-sex hand holding. Same sort of method works well on Instragam – just a picture of the lady friend. No caption. Leave ‘em wondering if that fox gets to kiss your face.

The Hashtagger
He wants you to know he likes the dudes and there will be no question when this day is over. Ahh the glorious celebratory days welcoming baby homo’s into the brave new world. He’s not coming out of the closet, he is breaking the damn thing down! #NationalComingOutDay was made for him and he’s not afraid to use it!

The Grand Gesture
Now these folks are the epitome of bravery. Truly, all kidding aside, I tip my hat to y’all – you are making a difference. Most infamous in my book is the beautiful fashion and beauty youtuber, Ingrid Nilsen. Her video “Something I Want You to Know (Coming Out)” (seriously, why is that such a genius title for hits) has more than 12 million views. And now we all get to lust over her *goals * relationship with fellow youtuber Hannah Hart, lovingly known as Hangrid.

The Insufferable
Now these gays… they are the real trailblazers. They know how to tell the world “I’m gay” whether they care or not! Optional method. A: Scrap your entire wardrobe. I mean everything. Schedule a Salvation Army pick-up kids, we’ve got the donation of the century. Now start shopping… if it doesn’t have a rainbow on it then it is NOT for you. That’s right, you are rockin’ ROYGBIV all day everyday you little homo you. Optional Method, B: This one is not for the faint of heart… or rather, the faint of pain tolerance. Take a drive over to your neighborhood tattoo parlor and get the words “I’m gay” inked onto your forhead! *warning* not suggested for anyone who ever wants any job ever.


I may or may not be guilty of a couple of those myself…

hands

The “sly snap”

selfie

My “Bi Visibility Day” Selfie
















Until Next time,
Janelle


The Art of Coming out--pinterest

Pin it!

Featured Image: Source
 

 

One thought on “The Art of Coming Out

Leave a Reply

