Homecoming Weekend as an Alumni

As some of you may know, I am from the Midwest but went to college on Long Island. Graduating was rough (as it is for everyone really) because I had to pack up and move away from everything my life had been for four years. Talk about a bummer! So when I got an email a couple months ago reminding me of “Alumni Weekend” I jumped on the opportunity. A whole weekend with my old buddies? Easy choice.

Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football

So I packed up a very carefully planned carry-on and took a traffic ridden drive to O’Hare. Side note: I literally almost missed the flight – I had to skip to the front of security… which in retrospect was kind of awesome. By 10 am I was hugging my best friend dramatically in the Jamaica Station lobby.

Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football

Thursday was spent cuddled up with Italian take-out and the full Shonda Rhimes evening, “TGIT.” Friday I woke up early and met one of my best male pal’s in Manhattan… which led to a lot of walking, as usual.

Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College FootballStony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College FootballIMG_2117Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football

I was reminded of the beauty of urban planning as I enjoyed an iced coffee with the company of move-able chairs. (if that makes no sense to you, TRUST ME, they are a big deal to people’s happiness for some reason) Then we took a stroll through The High Line  and grabbed some lunch at The Park. I took full advantage of my “vacation” by sharing an entire pitcher of Sangria with my friend (yeah… just the two of us)

Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football Stony Brook University, Homecoming, New York, Long Island, Chicago, Party, Drinking, Football, College Football

Hours later we hopped on the good ole’ Long Island Railroad to get to my digs for the weekend. Back to my old stompin’ grounds! After a couple drinks I threw on my flannel (flannel #1 for the weekend… I really like this being gay thing) and danced the night away. Maybe it was the multiple long island iced tea’s (because I was on Long Island after all) but I actually managed to have a great time listening to house music.

IMG_2137 IMG_2138 IMG_2140

Homecoming was exactly what I wanted it to be. A day to hug and small talk with people I suspected I would never see again. It was a great time and well worth the chump change I paid for a flight over.

IMG_2141

…But a less than sober trip to my favorite diner was a must.

IMG_2147  IMG_2151

A bittersweet morning goodbye on Monday sent me off to my three-train-journey to JFK. Naturally, Chicago greeted me with blistering cold winds and a reminder of what the Midwest is all about. Though, my lady picking me up with flowers and the quintessential driver-in-the-airport “Janelle March” sign in tow certainly put a smile on my face. Now that all is said and done, I am just fine with my Alumni title now.

Until Next Time,
Janelle


Tell me Readers,
Did you attend a Homecoming Football Game this year? If you’ve graduated college, do you go back for Alumni weekend?

Leave a Reply

